Copying and moving materials in Blackboard Learn

Any Content Item, including Course Links, External Links, Folders, Learning Units, Off line Content and Tools can be copied from one folder or Course to another folder or Course. Copying content does not delete the content from the original location unless Delete Item After Copy is selected. Content that is deleted after a copy is moved to the new location and does not exist in the original location any longer.

NOTE: Folders may not be copied from other parts of a Course into a Learning Module.

Copy Content:
Instructors can copy Content Items from one of their Courses to another of their Courses, and from one Folder to another Folder in the same Course. Follow the steps below to copy Course content:

  1. Open the Content Area containing the piece of content to copy or move.
  2. Edit Mode is ON.
  3. Select Copy from the contextual menu for the content item. (If Copy does not appear, this option in not available). The Copy or Move Item page appears.
  4. Select the Destination Course from the drop-down menu. The default setting is the current Course. Only courses where the Instructorhas a role permitting copying content will appear in the list.
  5. Select the Destination Folder. Use Browse to locate the desired folder.
  6. Select No for Delete Item After Copy.

Move Content:
Instructors can move Content Items from one of their Courses to another of their Courses, and from one Folder to another Folder in the same Course. Follow the steps below to move Course content:

  1. Open the Content Area containing the piece of content to copy or move.
  2. Edit Mode is ON.
  3. Select Copy from the contextual menu for the content item. (If Copy does not appear, this option in not available). The Copy or Move Item page appears.
  4. Select the Destination Course from the drop-down menu. The default setting is the current Course. Only courses where the Instructorhas a role permitting moving content will appear in the list.
  5. Select the Destination Folder. Use Browse to locate the desired folder.
  6. Slect Yes for Delete Item After Copy.

Need help?

Last updated: 

February 09, 2012

Browse by tag