How do I block users from viewing my free/busy information in Exchange?

By default, the free/busy information on a user's Exchange calendar is shared with all other Exchange users. When you share your free/busy information, other users can see when you have appointments or meetings scheduled on your calendar. This can make it easier for others to schedule meetings, since they can see times that will not work because other events are scheduled.

Note that sharing free/busy information does not give others permission to view details of events on your calendar. All they will see is that you have something scheduled at a given time. The default free/busy sharing permission can be modified if you or your users don't want to share free/busy information.  However, if you do block others from seeing your availability, they will have difficulty scheduling meetings that don't conflict with other meetings that you may have. 

Outlook 2016   

  1. Click File in the top left and select Options.
  2. Click the Calendar tab on the left and click Free/Busy options under the Calendar Options section.
  3. Select "default" in the name column at the box at the top.
  4. Make sure the permission level is set to free/busy time
  5. Select "none"
  6. Click "OK"

NOTE:  You can also add different "names" here from the list of people in your address list and set permissions for each of them.

 

Outlook 2016 for macOS/OS X

  1. Switch to the Calendar view by clicking on the Calendar icon in the lower left. 
  2. Right click on your Office 365/Exchange calendar under "My Calendars". This should be called UIC Exchange.
  3. Click Properties, then switch to the "Permissions" tab in the window that opens. 
  4. Click on "Default"
  5. Permissions levels can be changed by selecting a set of permissions from the drop down box "Permission Level".  To block users from seeing your Free/Busy information, select "None". 
  6. Click "OK" to save changes. 

NOTE:  You can also add different "names" here from the list of people in your address list and set permissions for each of them.

 

Outlook 2013

  1. Click File in the top left and select Options.
  2. Click the Calendar tab on the left and click Free/Busy options under the Calendar Options section.
  3. Uncheck the box labeled Publish at Location and click OK.

Outlook 2010

  1. Click 'Calendar' on the left, then right-click your calendar (on the left under 'My Calendar') and click Properties.
  2. Go to the Permissions tab.
  3. Select the Default permission. Change the permission level from "Free/busy time" to "None".
  4. Click OK.

Need help?

Last updated: 

April 18, 2017

Browse by tag