How do I configure an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad for Basic Email?

The following instructions apply to Basic Email accounts (Mailserv and Tigger). There is a separate set of instructions if you are using GoogleApps@UIC gmail.

Basic settings

  1. Tap the Settings icon, then Mail, Contacts, Calendars.
  2. Tap Add Mail Account and select Other at the bottom.
  3. Fill in the basics for your account.
    • Name: your name as you would like it to appear in your correspondence.
    • Address: your UIC email address (example: adabyron@uic.edu).
    • Password: your ACCC common password.
    • Description: the name that the iPhone will list the account under.
  4. Tap Save.
  5. Select IMAP.
  6. Type in the following information for both Incoming and Outgoing mail servers.
    • Host name: mail.uic.edu
    • Your UIC NetID (example: adabyron)
    • Your ACCC common password
  7. Tap Save and wait for the verification process to finish.
  8. Once the settings are verified, tap Save.
  9. You will be back at the list of email accounts, with your new account listed. Tap on its name to select it.
  10. Tap Account.
  11. Scroll down to the bottom and tap Advanced.
  12. In the advanced settings, scroll down to IMAP path prefix.
  13. Tap the field and type in: mail/
  14. Turn Use SSL on.
  15. When you are finished, tap Done.

Optional settings

The final step is turning on SSL and configuring the special mailboxes (Drafts, Sent, Trash) to use the same ones as on the server. By default, your sent and deleted messages will be stored in a folder on your iPhone. If you want to use the same folders as Webmail or another email client (Apple Mail or Mozilla Thunderbird, for example):

  1. Tap the Settings icon > Mail, Contacts, Calendars.
  2. Scroll down the name your gave your Basic email account; tap on the name and then tap again on Account.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom and tap Advanced.
  4. You may want to set in the Mailbox Behaviors section:
    • Tap Drafts mailbox. From the list labeled On the Server choose the folder you use for drafts.
    • Tap Sent mailbox. From the list labeled On the Server choose the folder you use for sent messages.
    • Tap Deleted mailbox. From the list labeled On the Server choose the folder you use for deleted messages.
    • In the Deleted Messages section, select how long you want to keep deleted messages. The default is one week.
  5. When you are finished, tap Done.

Need help?

Last updated: 

September 21, 2016

Browse by tag