Student dropped out of test

When taking a standard Blackboard test or a Blackboard test via Respondus Lockdown Browser, students may encounter an “Access Denied” error message that kicks them out of the test. The "Access Denied: Either you are not logged in or you do not have the appropriate privileges to perform this action" error message is known to appear in the following scenarios. When the test is presented “one at a time”, these student actions prompt the error:

  • Student clicks the “Save Answer” button and then clicks the forward, backward, first question, or last question button while the “Saving Answer” message is still displayed on screen (before the request to save has been completely processed).

  • Student double-clicks the forward, backward, first question, or last question button.

  • Student clicks the forward, backward, first question, or last question button once, then clicks another one of these buttons before the first request is processed. When the test is presented “all at once”, these student actions prompt the error:

  • Clicking the “Submit” button once, then clicking the “Submit” button again before the first request is processed.

Solutions:

Students should be advised against double-clicking or clicking multiple buttons in succession when taking Blackboard tests. Caution students against clicking anywhere in the test while the page visually indicates that it is saving an answer or while a similar process is in progress. If they click a “Save”, “Submit”, or a question navigation button, they should wait for the page to process that request before clicking one of these buttons again.

Last updated: 

January 13, 2015