Every June, Blackboard courses that are over 3 years old are archived. Courses indicated as continuing, as work sites, and newer than three years to the present will be retained and excluded from the archiving process.
Courses will NOT be deleted, they will simply be removed from Blackboard and saved as files in an alternative place at UIC. Courses are available for restoration upon request.
Prior to any archiving taking place, you can save an entire course to your own computer. This allows the fastest access to the information within it, post-archiving. Having all the information on your computer means you can import the content to a new course, if necessary.
You must be an instructor for the course in order to archive it to your own computer. You can find instructions on how to archive your own course by using this link: go.uic.edu/archive_courses
Faculty can request that any previously archived course be restored, as long as you are the instructor for the course being restored. Banner records will be used to determine access to the archived course by the requestor.
Here is what you can expect when requesting a course restoration:
Please note that if the course is not associated with your NetID, you must work with the program director to gain access to the course.
Please follow this link to begin the course restoration process.