Rate & Funding

ACCC Rate and Funding Model

The new rate and funding model categorizes all ACCC services into three distinct categories. The three categories include:

1) Basic Services Bundle

Common services that all faculty and staff have access to. The bundle includes: email and calendaring, identity and access management, security management, desktop/laptop backups, helpdesk, IT training, storage, some network services, some phone service, software license management and Windows infrastructure. The cost for these services will be recovered through a per FTE rate.

2) Self Supporting

Services not universally used or needed by all faculty and staff. These include services such as: automated call systems; backup services for servers; cellular service; data & voice installs, moves and changes; incident tracking system; digital signage; IT event support; high performance computing; pagers; printing services; special circuits; specialized consulting and support; storage services (beyond basic bundle); and virtual servers. The costs for these services will be recovered through recharge rates for individual services as requested by the customer.

3) University Supported

Services supporting students, instruction, and related academic activities. They include: some network services, infrastructure services (applications, database, communications), classroom technology, and learning management systems. The cost for these services is funded through central appropriations.

Rate and Funding Review Process

As the rate gets reviewed and approved every year, there will be a central review process to evaluate services included in the bundle, prior year spending, projected future costs, changes in FTE, any subsidies that may be available, and any other factors that may affect the rate, while at the same time assuring centrally provided ACCC services can be sustained and enhanced as expected for a Research 1 institution.

During the fall timeframe, the recharge rate for the future fiscal year will be developed with input from the Rate and Funding Review Committee and the Steering Committee. Once this rate is evaluated and approved by the Policy Committee, details about the rate will be distributed and reviewed during the budget meetings with each college/unit. Non-recurring budget transfers will be made once a year around September to collect the funding from each college/unit.

Rate and Funding Review Committee

The Rate and Funding Review Committee members include:

  • Mary Case, University Librarian and Dean of Libraries
  • Sandy De Groote, Faculty Senate Representative
  • Ilir Zenku, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Health Systems Information Technology, VCHA
  • Rich Alpern, Associate Dean, LAS
  • Jim Pierce, Assistant Dean of Administration, College of Business
  • Michael Harner, Associate Dean for Finance and Administration, College of Dentistry
  • Dale Rush, Associate Dean for Administrative Affairs, College of Pharmacy
  • Todd Van Neck, Associate Dean for Administration, College of Medicine
  • Thomas Warfield, Associate Director, Budget and Financial Analysis
  • Michael Moss, Assistant Chancellor and Director, Budget and Financial Analysis
  • Janet Parker, Associate Chancellor for Budget and Resource Planning
  • Cynthia Herrera Lindstrom, Vice Provost for IT & Chief Information Officer
  • Mark Goedert, Director of Planning, ACCC
  • And representative from the IT Governance Council Infrastructure and Security Committee

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is the IT Governance Council.