blackboard

 

A shortcut to an item, tool, or area in a course.

Course Messages allow you to send and receive messages from students, instructors, and TAs through your blackboard site.  Similar to a built in message/email system and separate from the email tool, which does not allow you to receive and save messages.

Use the following steps to create a customized grading schema in your course:

Once you have logged into Blackboard:

  1. Click the Add Module button at the top left corner of the screen

  2. Scroll down to the My Courses module

  3. Click Add

Personalization

You can customize the look of your My Courses page by using the Personalize Page button to change the color scheme.

Each course can have its own glossary of terms. Each entry consists of a term and an accompanying definition. You and your institution control if the glossary tool is available.

Moving Modules

The modules can be dragged around by hovering over the module, which will make a crossed arrows icon appear to the left of the Module title. Click the icon and drag the module to your desired location.

An online photo gallery, which can also be integrated into Mashups.

Grading Periods classify grade columns by due date.

You can create a Grading Period by following the steps given below :

  1. In Grade Center, click Manage to access the drop-down menu.

  2. Select Grading Periods.

  3. Click Create Grading Period.

The SafeAssignment plagiarism detection service (run and hosted by the Blackboard company) supports the following file formats:

  • Microsoft Word documents i.e. files with .doc and .docx file name extensions
  • Acrobat documents: .pdf
  • HTML files: .htm and .html
  • rich-text files: .rtf
  • plain-text files: .txt
  • open office documents: .odt
  • zip files: .zip

For the latest list of supported formats, faculty and teaching staff can initiate a SafeAssignment Direct Submit under the Blackboard Control Panel.

A Mashup combines elements from two or more sources. Click the Insert Mashup function ( insert mashups button 

Before Recycling a file in the Content System, you should remove all the permissions you might have granted if you shared the file with someone.  To look at the file permissions follow these steps:

Blackboard Collaborate Web Conferencing is a virtual learning environment to facilitate real-time online learning.

PLEASE NOTE: Be careful when removing students from Blackboard course sites as all information associated with the student (including grades and assignment submissions) will be deleted.

Application servers

Sometimes there is a particular Blackboard app server that is slow. Clearing your browser’s cookies can help switch you over to a different app server.

For an advanced explanation on clearing cookies/switching app servers, please see this video:

The UIC Blackboard Learn service offers instructors and teaching assistants in course sites the images of students that appear on their University iCard so that they can easily associate student names and faces in their courses.

These are short summaries of the tools available in Blackboard Learn for instructors and students.

To change the duration of a Blackboard course site:

  1. Log in to Blackboard.
  2. In the course Control Panel section, click Customization, then Properties.
  3. In the Set Course Duration section, set the dates as desired and click Submit.

Pages

Browse by tag